Book Tour: Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars by Cory Putman Oakes #Giveaway @CoryPutmanOakes

Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars

By Cory Putman Oakes

February 2, 2016; 

9781492605409-PR

Book Info:

Title: Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars

Author: Cory Putman Oakes

Release Date: February 2, 2016

Publishers: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Praise for Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars:

 

“Deft stimulus for both brains and funny bones.” –Kirkus Reviews

 

Summary:

 Dinosaurs, Martians, and mystery, oh my! Fans of Michael Buckley’s NERDS and Dan Gutman’s Genius Files will love this hilarious, action-packed adventure series. What would life be like if you were part dinosaur?

When you’re part Stegosaurus life can be a little crazy. (Yes, sleeping with plates is weird. No, dino-human hybrids do not have second brains in their butts.) But Sawyer’s life is normal(ish) — until he’s yanked aboard a UFO and sent on a mission to Mars.

Sawyer, Elliot and Sylvie travel to Mars to find her missing father, but they find even bigger trouble. Mars is trying to kick Pluto out of the solar system. And the fate of both planets will be decided by the upcoming Pluto VS Mars soccer match. Of course.

It’s an intergalactic mess, and only Sawyer can save Mars, defend Pluto and protect the galaxy…

Excerpt from Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars:

“Everyone!” Principal Kline said, commanding our attention from the top step of the administration building. “I’m afraid there’s been a mix–up. Last night, an unauthorized user gained access to the school’s administrative account and sent an email to all the fifth-grade parents. Our school website was also tampered with. There’s no school today. It’s not a ‘makeup day’ or anything like that. Please sit tight while I send out a corrected email and call all of your parents. It might take a while.”

“The school got hacked? Who would do that?” Sylvie asked. From all of the chatter going on around us, it was obvious that everyone was asking each other the same thing.

Elliot and I both sighed.

“Orlando must be back,” I theorized.

“He’s early this year,” Elliot pointed out.

“Who’s early?” Sylvie asked, crossing her arms. She hated not being the one who figured things out.

I pulled out my phone, but its battery was dead.

“Quick,” I said to Elliot. “Check the school Wi–Fi.”

Elliot dug his phone out of his pocket. Usually there was only one Wi–Fi network available on school grounds: JACKJAMESELEMENTARY (password: JackJames). Now there was still only one. But its name was: ORLANDOTOTALLYROCKS.

“Yeah, that’s usually the first thing he does,” I said.

“Who’s Orlando?” Sylvie asked.

“Orlando Eris,” I told her. “He’s in our class, but you haven’t met him yet because he lives in San Diego with his dad for the first half of every year. He only comes home to Portland after winter break.”

“Orlando’s obsessed with practical jokes,” Elliot added. “He even runs a blog. See?”

He angled his phone so Sylvie and I both had a perfect view of a website called Prankster King Orlando. Beneath the obnoxious red title and a big cartoon crown was today’s blog entry: a live–stream video of the front of a school, with dozens of kids gathered on the lawn.

It was us. Orlando was live streaming a video of us.

“That jerk!”

The shout came from Allan Huxley, who was also looking down at his phone. Until recently, Allan had been my greatest enemy at school. But we had come to an understanding after Sylvie and I saved him (and a good portion of the rest of our class) from taking a one–way trip to Jupiter. It’s kind of a long story, and we still weren’t exactly friends, but Allan and I had managed to coexist in relative peace for quite some time now. He hadn’t called me Butt Brain in three months and counting.

But hearing him yell like that still sent a chill down my plates.

As if on cue, the video feed paused and a picture of Orlando popped up in front of it. He looked exactly like I remembered him from last year: a black–haired, pasty–skinned kid in big glasses. He grinned at the camera and slowly held up a sign.

DID YOU MISS ME?

“Jerk!” Allan yelled again. Without warning, he started running toward a Dumpster on the edge of the grass, just as a small, bespectacled figure with a video camera in one hand darted out from behind it.

Principal Kline took off after them about a second later, running awkwardly in his flip–flops. Most of our class, including Elliot and Sylvie, started cheering Allan on at the top of their lungs.

But I didn’t. I was too busy thinking a rather out–of–place and very annoying thought: Orlando Eris may have been a jerk, but at least he had a passion. He probably wouldn’t have any trouble writing his paper.

add-to-goodreads

Buy Links:

Amazon– Apple– Barnes&Noble-

BooksAMillion– !ndigo– IndieBound

9781492605379-PR

Dinosaur Boy

Summary:

Everyone knows the dinosaur gene skips a generation.

So it isn’t a complete surprise when Sawyer sprouts spikes and a tail before the start of fifth grade. After all, his grandfather was part  stegosaurus.

Despite the Principal’s Zero Tolerance Policy, Sawyer becomes a bully magnet, befriended only by Elliot aka “Gigantor” and the weird new girl. When the bullies start disappearing, Sawyer is relieved—until he discovers a secret about the principal that’s more shocking than Dino DNA. The bullies are in for a galactically horrible fate…and it’s up to Sawyer and his friends to rescue them.

add-to-goodreads

Buy Links:

Amazon– AppleBarnes&Noble

BooksAMillion!ndigo– IndieBound

About the Author:Cory Putman Oakes

Cory Putman Oakes was born in Switzerland and grew up in California. She graduated from UCLA and Cornell Law. Since then, she’s been an associate at a big law firm, taught at Texas State University, and written several books. Cory lives in Austin, Texas, with husband Mark and daughter, Sophia. Visit Cory’s website at corypoakes.

Social Networking Links:

Website: http://www.corypoakes.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cory.oakes.7

Twitter: https://twitter.com/coryputmanoakes

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway Dinosaur Boy Book Packs

Runs February 1-February 29 (US and Canada only):

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
I love this quote, Diana
“I’m wondering what to read next.” — Matilda, Roald Dahl

25 thoughts on “Book Tour: Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars by Cory Putman Oakes #Giveaway @CoryPutmanOakes

  1. John Milnes says:

    This looks like a great book. A close family friend has a boy who is Dinosaur mad and would love this book. I am going to point them in this direction.

    Thanks for sharing

    John

  2. Eugenia says:

    Seems very interesting book for children! When I was a younger I loved books and movies about dinosaurs, martians, and mystery! Thanks for sharing!

  3. What a great read, I’ll have to check this out. And thank you for introducing me to Cory Putman Oakes. I’m a bookworm and so are the kids. We’re always looking for great authors.

  4. Elizabeth O. says:

    What a cool book for kids! The girls love dinosaurs, too bad they’re too big for this kind of book.

  5. Ha ha Sylvie does hate not figuring things out…Moi 🙂 Children need books that do encourage them to read more and get into activities as well that help them to grow. Interactive books too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *